What are you selling?

I have a bad habit of teaching Yoga to my coworkers at whatever job I get. Even though I resolute not to impose my “values” on to others, it always starts the same way. I get through my probationary period, identify times and and spaces where I can take short “yoga breaks,” then I start bringing a few props to work and practice. And then the whole thing goes to pot–someone asks me if I know of  “stretch” that will help their back, ankle, arm, etc.

I teach them a stretch. They get better. They tell others, then there is a line outside my cubicle. Adios lunches! Then everyone decides a “time” when I can teach them. First there are a few students, then half dozen, then most of the staff. No matter what job I get, some version of this phenomenon is inevitable. I even had one job where I taught the clients during a group therapy session. Like a good yoga teacher, I don’t turn anyone away, and try to grow the practice.

There are real challenges to teaching yoga to your coworkers. Boundaries are the first category. Your role changes from supervisee to instructor. It can be quite awkward telling the person who hired you that she is stiff because of stress and needs to stop sitting so many hours without a break. And don’t get me started on how to modify for women who are wearing a dress. I almost never do “hands on” corrections to coworkers unless I know them very well and still try to rely heavily on verbal cues and demonstration.

So to teach correctly, I started bringing more props for everyone to use. So in addition to my laptop, my files in a backpack, I also lug a stack of blankets and a bag of belts up the elevator to work. I must be a spectacle. The other day in the hallway I heard the maintenance woman ask me in her thick Filipino accent “What are you selling mister?” When one has 6 colorful Mexican blankets slung over one’s shoulder, one is just begging to have this question asked to them. So I gave the best answer I could muster at the moment: “I’m selling bliss ma’am, I’m selling bliss.”

 

13 thoughts on “What are you selling?

  1. So...

    Recently passed on the baddanguliyasana to my colleague and she’s taken it home besides teaching her daughter. Seeing someone in a posture I used to be in makes me want to share that recovery is possible. As they say, we only keep what we have by giving it away. Thank you for all you share.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Katie

    I really enjoy your posts but am wondering what that one was about? Difficulties of working with co-workers? I wasn’t sure. It was certainly an illustration of the value of yoga, people just have to know about it and then they want to do it. Looking forward to the next one.

    Like

    Reply
    1. yogibattle Post author

      My coworkers are far from difficult. They are a blessing. This post is more about how one’s duties as a yoga teacher often blur into other areas of life. The end results is almost always positive. My coworkers one time surprised me with a $50 Amazon gift card and a nice card thanking me for my time and energy.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Evengsan

    Awesome!! its very difficult to draw a line between imposing and getting people interested in doing something, so glad you have achieved the latter and are selling the eluding “BLISS”

    Like

    Reply
  4. Velo du Jour

    This sounds like a good problem. I am happy for you and your students! But I do get that even yoga teachers might need to be reminded to enjoy “stretching” with the practice further than they’d anticipated.

    Like

    Reply
    1. yogibattle Post author

      Thanks Velo. You read through my sacrasm. I actually really love teaching my fellow coworkers and reap many benefits that are not financial by instructing them. Love your blog BTW. I used to be an avid cyclist back in my teens. A bit hard to do now on the overcrowded narrow streets of O’ahu. May you be safe.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Healing means returning to work | Home Yoga Practice

Leave a Reply

