…Three years later

I’m taking time from my busy life to commemorate BKS Iyengar on the third anniversary of his passing. His legacy, his system, and his community continue to thrive as a result of his tireless work in brining yoga from darkness and obscurity to light. It is quite fitting that the solar eclipse falls a day after his death’s anniversary. Like the eclipse, the darkness of his passing is temporary, and provides a different light cast on an ancient tradition which makes it fresh and more intriguing.

Even now that Mr. Iyengar has left this Earth, his influence continues to grow. Even Google has commemorated his accomplishments by giving him an honorary “doodle” on his birthday last year. In this era of gross commercialization in the yoga “industry” the Iyengar community has been steadfast in maintaining its standards and continues to produce high quality teachers.

As for me, I have been preparing for my Junior Intermediate I assessment in November. When one goes up for assessment, it never feels like you have done enough in your practice or your studies to prepare sufficiently.  My mentoring teachers Ray and Shelley have been tremendous in encouraging me during this process. I just have to have faith that I will be ready at that time. My readers won’t probably hear much from me until it is over, so my apologies in advance. I continue to appreciate your readership and will respond to any comments about my posts.

Many blessings!

8 thoughts on “…Three years later

  1. babycrow

    Sincere wishes to you for your assessment Michael … and during your preparations. I have faith in you inasmuch as I know you from your writings to be full of integrity, knowledge and care.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. yogibattle Post author

      Been very busy in prep for my JI1 in November. Taught a back bending class from the syllabus yesterday and revealed how much I have learned and how much more I need to learn. Both are quite frightening. The only “sure thing” pose will be teaching middle of the room Salamba Sirsasana to 12 plus students in less than 6 minutes. Like Iron Chef for yogi-s… Thanks for keeping tabs on me. I will do a lot of blogging once this process is over.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

